Complete France Forum

Rider Etiquette in France

Wild Rover

I just started riding in France last week and am curious to know what the typical rider-to-rider acknowledgements are over here? In the UK it is a friendly nod of the head (or at least outside of the big cities) so am curious to know what the etiquette is here? I've not ridden much here yet and have not noticed any acknowledgement from oncoming riders, but I noticed some passing riders on the Periph extend their right legs as they went past. After the first couple did this I assumed it was a friendly acknowledgement rather than just freeing up stiff limbs, but as I'm currently on English plates I also feared it could be some anti-rosbif gesture!!!!

Thanks Suzie, very good! Perhaps you're right because on the occasions it happened to me I had moved in to let the riders past. So it's good to know it's not an anti-rosbif gesture then!  I'm still curious to know from other riders if there is any rider-to-rider acknowledgement as there is in the UK and elsewhere.

The definative:

When approaching other riders from behind, an extended right leg is shown as you pass the other rider. (This is done because removing your right hand (throttle hand) from the bars is not a good idea)

This signal is, as previously stated, (by Suzie) extended to other vehicles moving over to allow you to safely pass.

When you have riders coming towards you the left hand is extended without waving. The lower your hand is extended, the 'cooler' it is. (I'm reliably told)[:D]

[quote user="Bugbear"]The lower your hand is extended, the 'cooler' it is.[/quote]

With an extra cool point awarded if you include a two-finger V -- the victory one, rather than the Agincourt archer version, of course.

All your accumulated coolness is lost if you wave at a scooter.[;-)]

Extending the left leg can be given to a rider behind, to indicate that you are giving way to them.  You should never allow yourself to be put in this situation. [;-)]