Complete France Forum

small gauge railways...

You want to build one, right?

I'm no expert, but a Discovery Channel series touched on them albeit briefly, there are a few more in the UK than you'd think, apparenly, many, very privately owned and run.

A bloke I worked with once built a 7" gauge model of a diesel shunter, (BR class 08). It ran off three Vauxhall Nova windscreen wiper motors, and three large batteries in parallel. It was used to give rides at a local park on their track, and certainly was strong enough to pull two "trucks" with about ten people sitting astride. The charge lasted most of the day.

He was building a live steam model of a "Black 5" in the same scale, last time I saw him, about 4 years ago.

Have you tried a Google search? Suppliers must advertise somewhere, and I bet most now have websites..............even the French have those now[;-)]

Alcazar

There are a number of extant 60 cm gauge lines in France - but this may be bigger than you are thinking of since none are model railways but real narrow gauge railways.

examples

Cappy - Dompierre in N France near Amiens

http://home.iae.nl/users/summer/16mmngm/Pics_htms/FRoissyDompierre.htm

Bligny sur Ouch - in Burgundy - near Dijon

http://www.lepetittraindebligny.com/

After that of course a wealth of lines to metre gauge.

[quote user="montagrier"]Nice guess.... but no I dont want to build one... but I want to know someone who wants to build one...

cheers anyway for your interesting info... I was hoping around a 12" gauge-ish

monti
[/quote]

There used to be a beauty near to Skegness where the old GNR London-Louth-Cleethorpes line crossed the main road into Skeggy. Bloke had bought the old goods shed, built on the land, and turned the goods shed into a pretty good museum too. The Railway was about 12" to 18" gauge, diesel powered and ran around his garden, even crossing a lovely home made stream on a small girder bridge.