Complete France Forum

Horse Racing

I was watching the racing results after the news tonight when they show you a race - usually one of those "chariot/buggy" type races. I thought I heard the commentator say something to the effect of the horse "prend le galop" and being disqualified. I then watched the race and, not knowing much about horses or racing, deduced that they can only trot in these races. Am I right?

I'm no expert, but the racing you saw is called 'trotting' - and there is a clue there! The horses are not allowed to gallop, in other words they have to keep one (or more - dunno) hoof on the ground at any time, and of course galloping is when all four feet leave the ground.

[quote user="Jeanneclaire"]I was watching the racing results after the news tonight when they show you a race - usually one of those "chariot/buggy" type races. I thought I heard the commentator say something to the effect of the horse "prend le galop" and being disqualified. I then watched the race and, not knowing much about horses or racing, deduced that they can only trot in these races. Am I right?[/quote]

Yes you are correct ,

from start to finish the horses must "trot" , any other movement disqualifies them .

Leo

Must be a nightmare for the arbiters/stewards. A bit like race walking where you have to keep one foot on the ground at all times. I watched those horses and while I think I understand what a trot is, I also thought I saw one or two break into a canter or would it be a gallop!?

Trotting: to go at a gait between a walk and a run, in which the legs move in diagonal pairs, but not quite simultaneously, so that when the movement is slow one foot at least is always on the ground, and when fast all four feet are momentarily off the ground at once.

Canter: A smooth gait, especially of a horse, that is slower than a gallop but faster than a trot. [may involve having all legs off the ground at the same time]