Complete France Forum

How do they do it?

mooky

I have a new french neighbour. He is not even living in the house yet. A few weeks ago he started to rotivate the garden at the back of me. It had not been used for years, and was a disgusting mess. He rotivated it, and sowed seeds. He has not watered it at all. He has the most perfect veg just sprouting up, all in lovely military rows. I used the lunar method when I remember, and my vegs are growing, not as good as his though. I spend ages on mine, he spends a few minutes a week. What is the secret? We have a high water level here, Nr Chef Boutonne. I feel embarrased by my garden; I am new to gardening though. He hadn't even manured his. Do you have to be french to have fantastic potagers?

[quote user="mooky"] It had not been used for years, and was a disgusting mess.[/quote]

According to my OH [who is the gardener in our family] the fact that this land had not been used for years is the key to your neighbour's present success. His other tip is to watch closely what the neighbour does next year ... [:)]

Sue

Are you sure he put seeds ?     I was similarly impressed with my neighbours growth rate and precision planting, until I caught her (a little furtively !) sneaking some young plantlets between the two or three of her seeds which had come up !!

Having said that, there is an old man (and I mean ancient man) in next village who seems to have a veggie plot the size of a football field, and it really is the most impressive sight by about June, and I definitely saw no tell-tale plastic plant pots lying around in his patch.

Sue is right of course also; last year I had same situation and had a bumper crop; whether the magic will work this year, I am not so sure.

I know he bought his tomatoes from the garden centre. He just plonked them in on leave planting lunar time.

I grew mine from seed; they are good; I have never seen him water any of his crops.