Complete France Forum

Resin on of peach? tree.

Jazzer

Without seeing it, it sounds as if the tree may have been damaged in some way and these are weeping wounds.  Its not been a very good year for many plants, as indeed my peach tree (Well the half the cows can't reach!) had half a dozen fruit on it last month and last weekend it had two shrivelled little things like raisins left.   Something also decimated the redcurrants.   The weather may have a lot to do with this, ie. the wind could have ripped branches off your tree hence the damage.   Lets hope for a summer next year huh?? [:)]

I am not an expert, but we inherited an apricot tree here and then planted a very small peach tree. The apricot tree has done really well and the peach is ok but getting very small fruits and has suffered from leaf curl. Both trees produce a lot of this resin stuff (transluscent  amber-coloured hard stuff that hangs down from the branches and sometimes the fruit). I have also seen it on the wild plum trees around here so it would appear to be fairly normal. Is yours a big tree? If so, it should be producing fruit. If it is a peach it may have leaf curl (puckered-looking leaves and early-dropping fruit). Post a photo if you can, if you want others in the know to identify the tree for you,

Jane

We have two peach trees, very close to each other.   One seems to have leaf curl, but not the other.   Last year we had a good crop from both.   This year I pruned a little, fertilised, took off some small peaches where there seemed to be too many (rom the non-leaf curl tree).   This year the peaches on the 'good' tree are enormous compared to last year, and there are simply loads of them.   Not sure whether my pruning / fertilising actually did the trick or whether its just happened that way, but could be worth a try on your tree.