Complete France Forum

Health care in France beyond E-106....Please help!

Sarahd

Hello everyone.

Would much appreciate some help regarding necessary health cover in France for myself and young baby (born in France 10 months ago) after my E-106 runs out in a couple of months' time.

To cut along story short I am a full time resident in France but my husband is only a part-timer over here and still works and gains a salary back in England.

Therefore our house in France is my principal residence as it is for our 10 month old baby who was born in France. Both baby and I are registered with the French authorities although my son has both a French birth certificate and a consular birth certificate from the British Embassy in Paris. He also holds a U.K. baby passport as is the norm for a baby born in France to English parents.

I do not do any sort of work in France and take benefit of my husband's U.K. salary (not very high I'm afraid) to live over here. My husband pays all tax to the Inland Revenue on his U.K. salary as is normal for a U.K. resident and is fully up to date with his N.I. contributions. He obviously has full health care with the NHS back in England and uses an E-111 for emergency cover when he is in France.

My E-106 is about to run out and I wonder, under the circumstances, how myself and our baby stand for health cover in France.

As I earn no salary in France am I entitled to any degree of free health cover over here or do I have to pay for it in full once the E-106 runs out?

How does my baby stand for health cover as a European citizen born to English parents in France?

At present he is accomodated under my no. Securite Social with CPAM and my/his medical costs are reimbursed through the same procedure with L'Assurance Maladie (CPAM) courtesy of my E-106.