Complete France Forum

deleting Google topics

Sorry this has nothing to do with France but would be glad of ideas on how to delete the alphabetical list of topics which pops up when you click the cursor onto Google. Since husband changed to Mozilla Firefox as ?default server I cannot just use the delete key when a word is highlighted in blue as previously. Hoping someone has an idea as it's getting ridiculously full up. I'm not an expert as you will tell from the question. Pat.

Pat, I copied this from Google help..

CLEARING YOUR GOOGLE SEARCH BOX HISTORY

The search history that displays in the search box on the Google homepage is stored by your browser, not by Google. To disable this feature on Microsoft Internet Explorer (IE) versions 5.0 and higher:

1. Go to the "Tools" menu.
2. Select "Internet Options."
3. Select the "Content" tab.
4. Within the "Personal Information" area, select "AutoComplete."
5. Click on "Clear Forms." You can also uncheck the "Forms" box in this same window to keep this information from being stored in the future.

Alternatively, you can delete individual entries from your search history by using the Down arrow key to select a previous search, then pressing the Delete key once an unwanted search is highlighted.

To disable this feature in Mozilla Firefox 1.0 and higher:

1. Go to the "Tools" menu.
2. Select "Options" > "Privacy" > "Saved Form Information."
3. Click "Clear" and un-check the box.
4. Click "OK" to exit.

Cathy, the information was very useful. Perhaps you could now tell me how to  how to delete the alphabetical list of topics which pops up when you enter a web address into the address box. I have so much listed it would be helpful to do some prunning.

Baz

Ron, thanks for your reply. I had already tried your suggestion, whilst it works partially by removing all the history, it strangely leaves some odd sites and messages from previously viewed sites when entering via the address. I shall give a few examples.