Complete France Forum

Anyone know if you can buy a usb internet conecter in France like the ones now available in the UK?

Orange have a UK pay as you go for £99 (i think its orange).

I thought this may be an easy way to get the internet without any comitment, i have looked on French phone sites but no luck?

Not sure what you mean, can you explain a bit more.

AFAIK there are no PAYG broadband services in France. Other than through a normal residential phone line for which you will have to pay a monthly subscription of course the only other way to access the Internet would be via a mobile phone. I have no specific knowledge of what services are available down that avenue but I'm pretty sure they won't be PAYG !

I am begining to think that these are not yet launched in France,

But I could buy (in the UK) a small device that I plug into my laptop which would conect me to the internet, similar to (but not a) mobile phone same sort of deal as a mobile, pay monthly or pay as you go.

It would be great if I could get one that would conect to a French network as I would only pay for what I use and I could conect a Skyp phone as well.

When you subscribe to ADSL the phone line has to be patched and connected to the ADSL system of your chosen ISP.  When you have an ADSL modem (USB, Ethernet, WiFi, whatever), you need to configure into it (or you computer software) the username and password given to you by your ISP (i.e. the ISP you have a contract with who arranged for France Telecom (or whoever) to patch you phone line to their system).

ADSL is not like some open network where everybodys hone line is just part of some glorious network and you need more than a bit of hardware.

The Orange deal probably has nothing to do with the USB dongle but rather a different method of charging.  You can get USB dongle format ADSL modems in France - just they don't give you access to any free (or even PAYG) ADSL.  You need a contract with an ISP.