Complete France Forum

Dog friendly car?

Dc

[quote]We have been given a beautiful cross Labrador, our first dog and will need a new car to accommodate her. Has anybody got any suggestions as to what to get. Any help greatly appreciated. regards dc[/quote]

Dc

In what way do you mean 'dog friendly'?  Truth to tell there is no such thing, it's up to you to create the safest, most comfortable environment for your dog.  Two suggestions immediately come to mind:

1. An estate might be your best option, this would accommodate a cage or a dog guard.

2.  Air conditioning, especially if you are in France and travelling during hot weather. 

As to what make/model I'm afraid that I'm no expert but I do know there are members on this site who are and who, no doubt, will give you the benefit of their expertise, given time.

What are you calling the new member of your family?  Owning a dog brings a whole new perspective to your life.  Enjoy!

Sue

Our Labrador is perfectly happy in the back bit of a Peugeot 306 Estate, with a guard, although he seems OK without the guard. He was always sick in a smaller Peugeot, though he's OK in a Saxo for short distances. His favourite ride was in a new-style Renault Megane convertible with the roof down, wearing a harness that fits to the seat belt.

My own opinion and experience is that space to run around in the car is not an issue. Certainly my own dogs: one likes to sleep whilst the car is moving, the other loves watching everything go past out of the window.

Longer periods in the car (e.g. on cross-channel ferries) are just time for sleep.

Clearly there needs to be space of the dog to stand up decently, turn round and move around a bit (stretch a bit). However, on longer journeys you can always stop for a brief walk every now and again. A ferry channel crossing is no longer than a normal overnight. To some extent there may be a risk that more space may just encourage more movement.