Complete France Forum

Could anyone tell me if it is true that if you have more than 3 dogs you have to live in a house that has no neighbours within 1 kilometre?

Maybe it varies from area to area,but I can't seem to get consistent info.We have a small show kennel of Labradors (4) and breed the occasional litter of puppies and sell them.

Would we be entering a minefield of bureacracy if we continued to do this in France when we moved here - hopefully this year (area not finally decided on yet) ?

Difficult to give a truly “accurate” answer to that one. I have no experience the rules myself so can only summarise what others have said (from a variety of sources). I’m sure others will contradict my summary, but I’m sure a lot depends on your commune.

It seems to depend on where you live (or maybe your local maire or area and even then it can depend on your neighbours as to whether any rules are enforced).

Certainly it seems in some areas (depending on your location and proximity to neighbours) there is a 3 dog limit without permission. It may be in some areas that permission is required if within 100m of another habitation. I have not heard of 1Km (but that does not mean it is not used). I have also heard that in some areas planning permission for change of use to a habitation cannot be given where the building is within 50m of a property with more than 3 dogs (though unsure if that is the house, dog kennels, etc.). What it does mean is that, should you need permission and you have e.g. an old barn close-by, you might get the barn owner objecting if you asked for permission (as he could no longer sell the barn for conversion to a house).

I have not heard (or read) of anybody experiencing any difficulties with having more than 3 dogs. It may be that if you asked your maire that you could “open a can of worms”. In practice, if you are rural ad remote and your dogs cause no trouble I would not expect problems.