Complete France Forum

Poorly Cat

Cat71

Our (almost) 13 year old cat was diagnosed last week as having a liver infection and was put on anti-biotics. She was very ill for the first week and I didn't expect her to live! I have been a good nurse and she did pick up a little but she is just not eating. I have prepared all sorts of things for her such as fish, chicken, a bit of beef etc but she refuses to eat. She is hungry but everytime she takes a mouthful she is sick an hour or so later. She is on her last 2 days of antibiotics but I'm wondering if they have upset her stomach. Last night I didn't give her one to give her system a rest. She keeps going to her clean litter tray and licking the litter. Has any one else had a cat with the same problem? I fear it may be BIG decision time! Thanks, Catherine

It's a long time since I've had a cat but you have my sympathy as such times with an older animal are very difficult.

When my cat became ill, he stopped eating but was also eating the cat litter. He was actually suffering from liver disease and was not eating properly. I assumed that the eating litter was a search to get necessary minerals etc.

If you think your cat might not be getting on well with the antibiotics than do return to your vet and ask further. Earlier this year vet put one of my dogs on non-cortisone steroids as she had twisted her leg very badly. After a few days she was having real stomach problems so I went back. Vet then said I had definitely done the right thing - he immediately stopped the current drugs and switched to loads of other things to address her stomach problems. I know that costs are not the issue in these circumstances, but every time I have made a return visit to the vet (in France) for something that "was working quite right", I have never been charged for the return visits (always treated as part of the original treatment.

Hope all goes well and she recovers soon.

Ian