Complete France Forum

Moving with cats from Canada to Nice, France - help needed!

Weeda

Good afternoon. This post might be a bit long-ish but I hope you forgive me.

I am a university student in Ontario, Canada and am applying to study in Nice, France for my 3rd year of university.  I have 3 cats whom I adore very much.  I am trying to figure out the cost and procedures of transporting them, the cost for any potential vet care needed (emergency), food costs and whether landlords in France (particularly Nice) allow for pets in apartments, and finally the cost of pet-sitting were I to go away for a long weekend.

Any links and any help would be most appreciated.  My mother is willing to take care of them for the year here in Ontario but if at all possible without putting me into terrrible debt, I wish to take them with me.

Thank you in advance. [kiss]

Waheeda

Hi Waheeda.

You should check with the airline about costs for transport.  You will probably need to put each cat in its own airline approved pet carrier. The airline will probably charge you a fee for each pet; I believe we were charged around $100 (US) when we brought our dog over from Los Angeles, but she was bigger than your cats and the trip was longer.

Vet fees here are lower than what we paid in the U.S., but I don't know how that compares to Canadian prices.  Of course, we live in a rural area, so Nice could be more expensive.  I find food costs comparable to what I spent in the States, and I buy special food because I have an allergic dog.

As to landlords, I shouldn't think that having cats in an apartment will be a big problem.  They are quiet and the French aren't as big on forbidding pets as the Americans or probably Canadians.

Good luck.

PG