Complete France Forum

I want to buy a used car but need help!

nimportequoi

I would like to buy a used car (around 3 years old) and am happy to get one myself (probably from a garage as there is a guarantee). I know the make and model I want, but being a woman, I'm open to being ripped off and I need some help with the following if possible!

1. What is the average kilometrage per year you should allow for a) diesel b) petrol cars?

2. Are breaks easier to re-sell?

3. Used cars are more expensive in France than in UK (why?) is about 17% more expensive on a like for like basis correct?

4. Is a one year guarantee the norm if you buy from a garage and is an extra warranty worth buying at all?

5. Is the price always negotiable?

6. The garage said I would get more for my old car by selling privately than by trade in (see below) is this right?

6. I have a very reliable 1993 Peugeot 306 LHD diesel 220,000km, regularly serviced, which I have been offered 1300€ for (by a guy who works at the service garage I use), is this OK? 

Thanks in advance for any info on the above and other tips you may have!

If you go to the newsagent and buy a copy of the "Argus" newspaper (published weekly) it will have a list of second hand car values which should be a help. You will also find lots of cars advertised for sale.

Average km is around 20000km per year. A petrol car should cover about 150000km before needing any major works whilst a diesel should manage  200000km.  You will find that petrol models are significantly cheaper to buy second hand. Although the cost of  gasoil is less, if you drive around 20000km a year it will probably still take you up to four years to recoup the money you will pay extra for a diesel in the first place (based upon the fact that a three year old diesel will probably cost about 1000€ more than its nearest petrol equivalent).