Complete France Forum

Starting out - where to start etc

Can anyone help?  We are thinking of buying a small house in France now rather than waiting the 10 years we were going to when our children are grown up.  Before we do, we need to gather as much info as possible about buying and owning a house in France.  I know we have to take Notaires fees into consideration when buying but is there anything else?  We would probably have some sort of survey done.

Once you own it what sort of taxes are there; how much does the electricity cost and are there any UK tax implications.  We will probably buy in the Poitou-Charentes region or thereabouts and would only be spending around £50k total.

We would only use it as a holiday home and not rent it out.

Thanks

Hi Jules

We bought our small holiday house (at a similar prices quoted by you) only last December, so I am still learning lots and there are bound to be lots of other and more knowledgeable members of this Forum to advise you, but here are some facts to help you do your sums.

The price of the house included the notaire's fees (the vendor paid for the estate agent's fees) and we got away with paying only a fraction of a deposit.  We didn't have a survey done as it is not the usual practice in France.  Running the place compares very favourably with paying similar sorts of bills in the UK.  Electricity has been estimated at 250 euros per year, the rubbish collection is 170 euros, taxe d'habitation 230 euros and taxe fonciere 260 euros.  We haven't paid the water bill yet.  Building insurance was 210 euros.  The whole process of buying was surprisingly easy.  The only problems now is that I am never satisfied with my life here and want to be over there all the time!

I hope you'll find a holiday house of your dreams - it can be done!

Anna

Jules

things to take into account: