Complete France Forum

Electric water heaters (CHAUFFE-EAU ÉLECTRIQUE)

mi_buena

Hello, everyone,

I am currently not a resident in France, but I have a question which I hope will find suitable answers from here. I saw that there are topics, concerning water heaters, so I hope there will be people willing to answer a few questions, concerning them.

I am a marketing student at university and I am currently writing a course-paper, describing a particular market of products in the European countries. I decided to explore the electric water heater market. I have been searching for information about France in the past 2 days, but I keep running into quite misleading information which I can't really assimilate. So in order to make sure that I get the things right that I don't write untrue things in my course paper I decided to ask people who really live there in order to clarify the situation for me.

First of all, I would like to ask you to what extent are the electric water heaters used by French households for heating water? Is using electric water heaters really popular in France or most people use gas and other means already? I need to know this, because according to a statistics I read only 40% of french residents are connected to the gas network.

Secondly, while looking at different web-sites selling water heaters I noticed that the prices are quite high - on average 400-500 euro per heater and secondly - there are only french producers in the web-sites. How do the producers manage to keep these high prices? And are there really no foreign trade marks of electric heaters offered on the French technology market? Does the government provide any special stimuly to stimulate French producers of heaters or anything else that puts foreign producers away? I am asking because I didn't see neither Ariston, nor Gorenje which are so common in Europe.