Impot sur le revenu, Acompte provisionnel 2006

Ron Avery

I thought I understood the French income tax system, but how wrong can one be[:O].

I have just received the above form, it is asking me if I want to pay my tax bill monthly or tri-monthly, and advises of all the ways that payment can be done, so far so good.  It is then demanding a third of LAST year's tax bill be paid by the end of February. I paid my 2004 tax bill in full in September 2005.

Is this the new system Miki and others wrote about where your tax is estimated for the year, if so fine, I can understand that ,but why am I being asked to pay now and not in September as I did last year and to pay a third even before the normal forms have been sent out?

No that is quite right RA.

I had written about all these complexities before, I described as best I could as to how this works, although sadly I am not very good at explaining things sometimes. It was on a post I remember you responding to too, although you did not as far as I can remember respond  to what could have looked like ramblings on my part, but in fact were not and were rather important.

If you don't sign up for a monthly bill, then you will always start paying towards this years bill at the end of February.

As they don't know how much the bill for 2005 is going to be they base their demand on the tax due  for 2004,  it is always based on what we declared the previous year. We then have to pay a third of the equivilant of last years bill by then end of February. Can't remember when the next third is paid, probably about May or June and then the balance is paid or reimbursed in late summer.

Example  last years tax bill for 2004 was 3000euros.

If you paid by prelevement there would be 10x 300 payments due and you would have started your first payment in January 06.

Or you would have to pay 900 euros by the end of February.