U.K. private pension and how is it taxed

canard

I have lots of pension questions, I wonder if there are any experts out there who can help.

I’m a French resident but cross border worker. I pay tax in uk and receive an S1 form for healthcare while I continue to work. I have a U.K.  private pension/SIPP.

If I retire early, can I take private healthcare (not a mutuel) in order to opt out of social charges?
I will lose my S1 form when I stop working until I reach age 67.

Any idea how much private healthcare is per month? I know, how long is a piece of string - but a very rough ballpark figure?

If I take all the pension at retirement I pay 7.5% tax on the whole pot (less 10% allowance). Generally it’s then best to transfer in to an assurance vie for tax purposes?

i believe I would then only pay tax on the gain of the assurance vie but at what rate? Ideally I’m looking for income tax rates and social charges separately here. I have looked on the web but there are lots of pre 2017 figures clouding my understanding.

I will of course be seeking professional advice too but I like to be as clued up as I can before consultation so hope you can help.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...

Hi, Sorry to see you had no replies; the forum seems less active these day and there were several questions! Not sure I can help a lot as I'm certainly no expert..   I think it may be possible to join the Puma system in France until you reach state pension age but I haven't needed to do this so have no information. I think you may have to pay social charges till you get a state pension, as it's only when you have an S1 that your healthcare is paid for by the UK. Until then you would cost the French health service.