Info on Gers (32)

We are in the early stages of planning a possible move to France and are particularly keen on Gers. We would appreciate hearing from anyone who lives in the area and has any helpful advice or comments, favourable or otherwise on any aspects of moving to and living in Gers (or the surrounding area).

Of primary importance to us is schooling for our children (aged 2 and 5) and employment, as we will need to make a living. My husband is a carpenter by trade, currently self-employed in the UK, is there much demand in the area?

A big thank you in advance for taking the time to read this and for any helpful advice given.

We have been living in Gers for just over a year now but have been visting for 20+ years regularly (at least twice a year) - "the boss" comes from around here.

I would agree with everything that PatF has said: the Gers is a quiet rural area and there is definitely a lack of good local artisans - and there are certainly a lot of rules and regulations.

If you are looking for info on the area, the best web sites are: www.gascogne.fr and www.gers-online.com (however, they are only available in French at the moment).

There is also a good local (free) business support agency (www.bgarte.com) based in Auch who have been a great help to us (and other Brits) - again, their web site is in French.

Bonne chance.

We are moving to the Gers soon (hopefully!) after 3 property hunting trips. Everytime we go back it feels more like home and we see more that we like (if that makes sense). I am also looking for information on schools (primary and senior) does anyone have any experience of the schools in Condom and Lectoure? Good luck with your property search!

Thanks for your helpful comments. Wish we could just pack our bags and leave Sunny Essex behind. If only it were that simple!