Looking for work in Area 36 and surrounding areas.

Hi there,

I  have recently purchased a small barn in Pouligny~Notre~Dame and would love to relocate there or in the surrounding area.

I am looking into converting the barn into a workshop and also start trading in property maintainance,   I am a joiner by trade and being 43 have covered all other trades throughout my years including roofing, plastering, painting & decorating and also gardening.

I am looking into the needs of the business and community to see if there is a demand  for Property Maintainance suppliers. Any information that could help me would be very helpful.

Many Thanks George

(Living the Dream) 

George,

We have had a holiday home in that area for five years. There seems to be a lot of renovation going on and our own experience is that it is difficult to find local craftsmen to do jobs without long delays. We deliberately use locals and our friendly neighbours appreciate it. Although we have to wait, the end product is very good and reasonably priced.

I think that the likely problem is that the French would be unwilling to use UK labour unless you speak excellent French. Other than that, they would be swayed by your speed of action and subsequent word-of-mouth reports of your skills. It will take some time to become established so do you need this work for essential living costs?

Is your barn near to the golf course?

Good luck, Alistair

Hi George,