Which bird makes this call (2)

I presume it is a bird! Assuming it is, I think it must be some sort of a wading bird as the call seems to come from the stream in the valley at the bottom of our village. The sound made is like sonar blips, but irregular, and occasionally of different pitch. I've only noticed it during the evening and at night - we've lived here 4 years and this is the first time I've ever heard this particular sound.

We have always heard an odd noise at night from the direction of the river and it turned out to be a Scops Owl (or so we have been told - never seen it) - quite loud! Up to then we had thought it was probably toads. Yours may well be different though so Chris is probably correct - I am no expert at all!

Andy

You are absolutely correct Andy and I mention that, I think, on the site about midwife toads, they do sound similar, but the way the sound was described and being this time of year, I would say it was 99 to 1 that it is midwife toads, not actually in the water and sometimes a good distance away.

What amazes me is that in the quiet of the countryside the sound can carry 500 metres and more.

Chris.

I didn't know you were in Brittany, that makes it even more likely to be midwife toads although I don't know if there are Scops owls there, sorry. If you are hearing more than one source of these calls I think you can be sure it's toads.

Chris

Chris .Scops owls are in bittany,even heard /seen them in normandy,there song or call is is a repeated short whistling tyuh every two or three seconds.I think with the climate change they and like many other species are moving north fast.Its note also last longer than the midwife toad and is more harmonic[if thats the word]in other words his/her noise is more up and down whereas the toad is constant.Michael.