Can you forget your mother tongue

Hi all ! I’m a newbie on this forum, so I dare introduce myself a little : I live in the Vendée. I’m a retired multi-skill builder (artisan en Multi-Service Bâtiment). My wife is Welsh and we have a dog called Maverick (Golden Retriever).

Despite the fact that my wife speaks good French, we speak English at home all the time. I start to realize that the English words come to me more and more easily but sometimes, I struggle to remember French ones if she asks. Am I loosing my mother tongue ?

Is there members here in a similar situation ??

Years ago, when I was working in Tabriz, the Thai wife of a colleague went to their embassy to get some papers sorted and burst into tears because she had forgotten how to speak Thai.

Subsequently she returned to her home country and, of course, it all came back. But could she have forgotten it completely? Change of environment would bring it all back I suspect, in time. That being said, bilingualism is not a natural state and has to be maintained or it will be lost.

Well..... as an English person married to a French person, before I had kids I could speak 'reasonable' French. I could get by.

Since having kids (3) I have to speak English at home so they all get immersed in the language. We all speak English at home....but their first language is French.

But by speaking English all the time I am losing my ability to speak French.

As you get older and if you are not a 'language person' it does get hard to switch your brain on for both languages..

I'm struggling.

Thankfully though alcohol is pronounced the same in both English and French. LOL