using the language

richard51

Had a very good official meeting this morning with a french person.

He was really pleased that we tried to use french to speak to him - he was good in english but said that he was pissed off (our translation) about the number of German.Dutch etc who just would not try.

He was very amused when I introduced the google translate app on the mobile phone. Twice now it has proven useful and indeed a useful topic of conversation .

Perhaps the only useful thing gained from that "royal" person. Perhaps "linguists" can learn "scientific", etc things in their old age.

There you go again...yawn. Oddly, I'm a multitasker, like most wimmin. I have a joint honours degree in French with a technological/scientific subject, which has allowed me to work in the speciality chemicals industry in Francophone countries, entre autres. But when I reach old age, dicko, I'll let you know if old people who primarily focus on humanities subjects are able to broaden their horizons. If we are both still here.

Still, at least you've credited me with giving you one piece of useful info. Maybe one of these days you'll reciprocate? I won't hold my breath.?

[quote user="richard51"]Had a very good official meeting this morning with a french person.

He was really pleased that we tried to use french to speak to him - he was good in english but said that he was pissed off (our translation) about the number of German.Dutch etc who just would not try.

He was very amused when I introduced the google translate app on the mobile phone. Twice now it has proven useful and indeed a useful topic of conversation .

Perhaps the only useful thing gained from that "royal" person. Perhaps "linguists" can learn "scientific", etc things in their old age.[/quote]

I keep coming back to this post, and wondering how long you have lived in France richard51. The reason being that you say:- 

He was really pleased that we tried to use french to speak to him