Grass Cuttings

Deimos

Just started the ongoing spring task of cutting the grass (takes me about 2 full days to get it all cut). Struck me that quite a lot of the time is spent emptying the grass cuttings so, why not mulch (sic ?).

I have always collected grass cuttings as I thought that leaving them on the grass they would form clumps and the grass beneath would then die and you would end-up with patches.

However, is it a good idea to leave the cutting on the grass to rot back into the ground. (also my lawn is very uneven so the idea about leaving stuff to rot back in strikes me as a particularly good idea.

Pros/Cons, Do’s/don’ts. I’m a complete novice when it comes to gardening but have worked out how a lawn mower works (not a skilled task).

Many thanks

Ian

Hi Ian

If the grass is very long you're better off collecting it this time.

You can use it in thinish layers (about 6inches) on the compost heap. If you put more than that on it just turns into a stinky sludgy mess.

Once the grass is short, you can leave the cuttings on, and they do act as a mulch

Many thanks

Am I right in assuming that if short enough and left on the grass then it will do the grass some good (i.e. nutrients). Also, if there are weeds growing in the grass are the cuttings best collected or (provided the seeds are not “ripe”) can they still be left OK.

Ian

Ian, I should have paid more attention to the size of the area you're mowing.

If it's a field and it's already got weeds on it, they are going to multiply like mad, whether you leave the cuttings there or not. 

I seem to remember reading somewhere that the grass cuttings left lying use some of the nutrients in the process of decomposing, thus depriving the growing grass.  Nitrogen rings a bell but could be bulldust. Just a thought, probably wrong but most people do collect it up.

Anne