I'm new to this....

windowman

gardening lark, so I haven't got a clue what most bugs, slugs and creepy crawly things are - even whats growing in the garden at the moment is a mystery, but I'm slowly learning. I do have one question though: what are those red & black beetle things that are EVERYWHERE & should I be protecting my garden from them?

Edit.  You type faster than me Chris, but we both have the same answer.

No, they are not ladybirds they are called Firebugs. Do a search on firebugs and you will see lots of information already posted on here.  They are quite hamless except if you are storing seeds which they like to eat. Although they all look the same from a distance, up close they are all individually patterned with marvellous shapes and patterns on their backs . 

Yep, they're the reason I can't get anything to grow from seed in our garden. As we're not there permanently I'd love to be able to scatter some seeds in our (very fertile) soil and let stuff pop up, but so far not much has survived their appetites. Last week we had millions of the little blighters in the garden, but it does appear that they aren't overly fond of the seeds of Nigella, 'cos the garden's covered in that!! Any other clues as to seeds they don't eat would be much appreciated!!

Croixblanches, I've had no poblems with Calandula, Poppies, Forget-Me-Nots, Spanish Rose, or Nigella, (as you said)).

This is the first year I'm trying any other seed scattering, so I'll have to wait and see, but what have you noticed them eating? Do you know for sure it's them causing your seeds to fail?

They seem to hang around our Lime tree mainly, but they are pretty much everywhere here. I never even knew they ate seeds, so thanks for that. Consider planting a Lime tree as a decoy [:)]

I wouldn't kill them, I will just adapt and sow what they will ignore.