Tomatoes

La Vette

I have only ever grown Moneyspinner in the UK - in growbags.  This year I have planted cherry tom plants and so far so good until they start to fruit.  Once the fruit has appeared all the other shoots have died.  That means I have only one or two shoots carrying about 10 fruits.  Should I have been doing something.  Total newbie and don't know much about pinching out etc.  They are like small bushes rather that the tall plants I am used to.  Don't be too hard on me.

It seems very early to have fruits on tomatoes. But your problem could

be due to lack of water. Where are you? We haven't had any rain for

weeks and a few plants have shrivelled up and died in the scorching sun

and warm wind. Last year I remember having to cover my tomato plants in

the heat of the day as they were flopping. Pat. ps I grew cherry tomatoes once and the plants were smaller than normal tomatoes.

I have cherry toms growing and the tomatoes are appearing. I always pick out the side shoots, it sounds like lack of water, I water mine daily and still there are some smalls toms falling off but it has been very hot, we are in 17 and hoping for some rain this weekend.

aj

La V - did the leaves turn brown at the edge and curl before the shoots

died? If so, you many find that the soil is defficient in phosphorus,

which tomatoes need in abundance. You might try adding "superphosphate"

(not organic), "rock phosphate" (considered organic by the

supermarkets, but not really as it requires lots of energy to extract

and transport) or bone meal (if you can find it) as a top dressing. If

your soil is acid, try liming it to release bound up phosphorus. Longer

term, just dig in as much orginic matter as you can lay your hands on.

On pinching out of side shoots, given the length of growing season here

(my

sixty or so plants - I really like tomatoes - are heavy already), I

don't bother any more - it is a practice, I think, more useful in

cooler climates