My first day of work since 2004!

Yes its true, whilst I may not take holidays and have worked most days including Saturday and Sundays for the last 10 years it hasnt really been work, every day I have had the choice and sometimes I would choose to do nothing at all, sometimes to go for a long bike ride or kayak all day, sometimes I would hear the tow plane over my house and trot off to the gliding club and then soar the thermals, these were the rare exceptions but every day I had the choice, no bosses, no customers, total freedom, in fact I would joke that I had been avoiding work for 10 years whilst in reality putting in far more hours than those in employment.

All that was due to come to an end today with the arrival of my first tourist customers in both apartments, I had time to mentally gear up to it but as I was working on the roof yesterday, a jour ferié, a pair of Australians arrived saying they had a booking [blink], you mean tomorrow? I said with a smile, no today they said, we booked it 5 minutes ago using the wi fi in the only café we could find open in town.

The flats were clean after the last long term rentals but I had not intended preparing them for tourists till today, these guys took them both so it meant that this morning I had to do a changeover of both apartments, something I have never done before and according to my program, but for the walk-ins (who I was really pleased to have had) it would have been another week before I had to do a changeover (there were gaps of days between the rentals) and only then for one apartment not two, so I hit the ground running [:-))]

Now I have one whole days experience what some of you do for a living and I have the utmost respect for you,  Plus many of you  have to cook breakfasts, evening meals and generally be on hand. Long term rentals are an awfull lot easier.