Doing Your Own Renovation Works

garyH

I wonder if anybody out there could give me some advise.  My wife and I will shortly be purchasing a house in the Brittany area which will consist of a farmhouse which is habitable but needs minor work which also has a couple of barns in need of renovation which we hope to convert into dwellings/gites. I have been in the UK Construction industry most of my working life (I am currently a Construction Site Manager for one of the largest construction companies in the UK ) and I have a thorough knowledge of building work so I would like to do, most if not all, the work myself.  

Q1/. Do I need to be a qualified artisan/tradesman to reroof, rewire, re-plumb and do the structural alterations to the property or would the French Authorities accept my qualifications as a Construction Site/Project Manager.

From browsing some of the comments in this forum from other members it is clear that there are many differences between French and English construction requirements.  An example in the forum at the moment for instance is the French requirement that electrical ring mains in houses is not allowed.  I have copies of the relevant building regulations for the various aspects of house building in the UK but nothing relevant to France.

Q2/. Where would I get copies of the French equivalent of our building regulations and (wait for this ) can you get them in English? (ouch!) 

If any members out there could give me any further information on the subject I would be very grateful. 

Regards

GaryH 

Hi Gary,