Nurse and Husband moving to France for more than a year

Hello Frenchies :)

I'm new to this forum. I am a 25 year old nurse and my husband is a pharmacist and we are moving to France in February from Australia.

I think I have to get a working holiday visa to start with to get over there but what if I want to stay longer?

Also are there any english speaking nurses out there who have battled the paper work and have got their nursing registration in France?? I have been taking French lessons all year and will continue to do so until we leave but I'm not fluent. There is no way I can line up a job before I get there so how do I get a working visa?

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Have a look at this very telling thread from another forum (sorry Mods, hope this is OK.)

http://www.totalfrance.com/france/forum/viewtopic.php?t=46228  (the 11th post on the first page explains why this is so apposite).

Far be it from me to put a damper on anybody's plans but France is not all that user-friendly in terms of employment, so take great care before you dive in.

Thank you,  I have visited the embassy site. 

I understand it is going to be difficult and I have enough resources to support myself  over there for a few months while I study up my French. If I can't get a job as nurse I have heard that I might be more successful getting a nurse aide position but I'm yet to find any english spesaking person that has done this.

The working visa requires you to provide an employers name before you apply but I don't know enough french yet to contact employers.

Is this totally impossible? Should I just do like all ohter Australians and go to the UK?

I am sure nothing is totally impossible!  However, I doubt it's just a coincidence that many Australians do go to the UK.  You might think about doing that and spending some holidays in France and polishing your language, and looking for employment in France from the UK, which could be less risky.