swaping UK qualifications to French qualifications.

glacier1

Hi there,

I was a lifeguard/swimming instructor in the UK, I had all the documents to prove it.  The royal life saving society are UK based but they are internationaly recognised.  Theoretically I can come with my British diplomas and swap them for French ones?  Is this the case?  How do I go about it?  Has anybody had experience of this?  I'd love to hear from you.  Many thanks

Dave

Hi there, thanks for your reply, it's interesting to read up about them, I've gone as far as to contact the centre of youths and sport here in my local city, they put me through the departemental authority for foreign qualification (jeunesse-sport.gouv.fr) in Lyon, he's away on holiday until the 17th so I sent an email with my qualifications, just to know what he has to say.  If I have to update my qualification, I also need to know if I can re-do it in the UK, come over with the qualification and get it swapped for a French qualification just like when we swap our UK driving licence for a French one.  These qualifications are European.  I also have a BTEC qualification in Business and Finance, don't know the French verion of BTEC.

Right, it sounds similar to the UK, doesn;t mention anything about red cross qualifications, this I need to check up on (PSE1, and PSE2) for group lifesaving, I think it's a legal requirement, I've already done the 1st step in this qualification, just need to do 2, 2 weekend courses at 250 euro each to get my qualifications up.  I'm going to see if the UK teaching qualification is viable here in France, and then if it is, I'll renue my qualifications back home and come back with it, have it  translated and then try for work in the pools around my area.  French courses are few and far between and they are fully booked up to 2 years in advance.  I'll let you guys know how I get on, the person responsible or transfering UK qualifications to French qualifications is on holiday until mid August.