UK Graphic artist in France...What are the legal requirements?

SimonR

I'm a freelence graphic artist who's recently moved to France. We've taken on a winter let while we look around for a property to buy.  UK clients are happy to continue our working relationship, which is good as 90% of my work is done via the internet. Thanks be to Broadband.

My next concern is what do I do next to register 'officially' in France...? The cost implications may have us back at Calais sooner than planned.

Anyone on the same track? I'd really appreciate some advice.

Depends on how much you make I guess. Auto entrepreneur is a good "simple" scheme, but it is very limited in how much you are allowed to earn. Think it's only up to €27k a year turnover which is quite limited.

Other than that, I think it gets complicated and costly. Others will know better than me.

Incidentally, I'm in the same field, but am currently in the States getting my degree in it to match the experience I already have.

[quote user="SimonR"]The cost implications may have us back at Calais sooner than planned.

[/quote]

Why bother to register if you still have these type of thoughts? It's generally accepted that you can move here for up to six months on an "only looking basis".

If you're asking how to get into the French tax system and what it may mean financially there's a lot more information regarding family size, where you do your work and likely income levels before advice can be given.